Records were broken by Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins of Australia during the IPL auction.

Australia’s captain, Pat Cummins, has concluded a successful year by becoming the highest-paid player in the history of the Indian Premier League auction – only for team-mate Mitchell Starc to break the record an hour later.

The Kolkata Knight Riders paid A$4.43m (£2.35m) for the experienced paceman, surpassing the A$3.67m paid for Cummins by Sunrisers Hyderabad earlier during the auction in Dubai on Tuesday night.

Both bids exceeded the $3.15m paid for young allrounder Cameron Green last year, which established the benchmark for an Australian player.

Cummins will be joining forces with World Cup hero Travis Head after the explosive left-hander was also acquired by the Sunrisers for $1.22m.

Harry Brook received the highest bid for an England player, with the batsman being signed by the Delhi Capitals for approximately £380,000.

After skipping this year’s IPL due to a busy international schedule, Cummins actively participated in the auction and attracted intense bidding.

IPL franchises were determined to secure Cummins, who led Australia to an unexpected ODI World Cup final victory over India in Ahmedabad last month.

Cummins previously played for the Kolkata Knight Riders last year, but MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians were also contenders in the bidding.

Royal Challengers Bangalore, featuring Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell, also expressed interest in Cummins, but the Sunrisers increased their bid to a record level.

Cummins’ significant payday overshadowed the success of Head, who is making his way back to the IPL after six years.

Head had previously been part of two IPL franchises – Delhi in 2015 and the Royal Challengers during 2016 and 2017.

Star batter Steve Smith did not find any buyers during the auction, but his extensive IPL history suggests he is likely to secure a contract before Australia’s preparations for next year’s T20 World Cup in the United States and the Caribbean.

Australians Mitch Marsh, David Warner, Matthew Wade, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa, Green, and Maxwell were already retained by their respective franchises before the auction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *