Brock Purdy, one of the nine San Francisco 49ers players selected for the Pro Bowl, ranks highest among NFL players chosen for the honor.

Brock Purdy and Tua Tagovailoa were chosen as the starting quarterbacks for their respective conferences to participate in their first Pro Bowl.

This is the first time in two decades since Peyton Manning and Kurt Warner, both Pro Football Hall of Famers, were selected as first-time QB picks during the 1999 season.

Purdy, along with eight other players from the San Francisco 49ers who secured the NFC’s No. 1 seed, made the cut. The other players include Nick Bosa, Javon Hargrave, Kyle Juszczyk, George Kittle, Christian McCaffrey, Charvarius Ward, Fred Warner, and Trent Williams.

The 49ers, with a record of 13-3, had the most players chosen, followed by Baltimore (13-3) and Dallas (11-5) with seven Pro Bowl players each.

The Ravens, who secured the AFC’s No. 1, had Lamar Jackson, Kyle Hamilton, Tyler Linderbaum, Justin Madubuike, Patrick Queen, Roquan Smith, and Justin Tucker among their picks.

The Cowboys, who have a chance to clinch the NFC East title with a win on Sunday, had Dak Prescott, Bryan Anger, Brandon Aubrey, DaRon Bland, CeeDee Lamb, Zack Martin, and Micah Parsons on the Pro Bowl roster.

Joining Purdy in the NFC’s first-year selections are Puka Nacua, Sam LaPorta, D’Andre Swift, Kyren Williams, Aidan Hutchinson, Montez Sweat, Jaylon Johnson, Devon Witherspoon, Jessie Bates, Julian Love, Charvarius Ward, DaRon Bland, Brandon Aubrey, Rashid Shaheed, and Jalen Reeves-Maybin.

Tagovailoa’s fellow AFC first-year selections include David Njoku, Raheem Mostert, James Cook, Alec Ingold, Tyler Linderbaum, Justin Madubuike, Patrick Queen, Kyle Hamilton, Marvin Mims, Miles Killebrew, and Ross Matiscik.

Patrick Mahomes is the third QB for the AFC, while Matthew Stafford is the NFC’s third QB. Trent Williams leads the pack with his 11th Pro Bowl selection, followed by Aaron Donald with 10. Travis Kelce, Bobby Wagner, Kyle Juszczyk, and Tyreek Hill are going to their eighth Pro Bowl.

Don’t miss out on expert analysis of the biggest stories from European soccer. Sign up to Soccer with Jonathan Wilson after the newsletter promotion.

A total of 28 teams had at least one player selected, and 21 clubs had multiple players chosen.

Player selections were determined through consensus voting from fans, players, and coaches, with each group’s vote counting as one-third toward final rosters. The NFL is the only sports league that incorporates fan, coach, and player voting to determine its all-star teams.

The Pro Bowl will return to Orlando after a three-year hiatus. This year’s event will feature a multiday AFC versus NFC competition, including Pro Bowl Skills and a flag football game as the grand finale. Peyton and Eli Manning will once again serve as head coaches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *