Australia’s national championships witness cyclists honoring Melissa Hoskins

Melissa Hoskins’ tragic death has deeply affected the Australian cycling community, with top riders Grace Brown and Brodie Chapman expressing their sorrow.
Before the start of the elite women’s road race at the Australian championships, a minute of silence will be observed on Sunday morning.
At the national road championships, Brown emerged victorious in the time trial, while Chapman finished second. This event marked the first elite cycling competition in Australia since the unfortunate passing of Hoskins over the weekend.
“This has been an incredibly difficult week,” stated Brown, who secured her fourth national time trial crown.
“The cycling community is struggling to come to terms with it.
“Personally, I feel immense sadness for Mel and her family. My thoughts are with them. It casts a shadow over the summer of cycling.”
Chapman also expressed her support for honoring Hoskins on Sunday, noting that it is “absolutely necessary.”
“It is a devastating tragedy, and my heart goes out to Mel’s family. I am devastated,” said Chapman.
Hoskins’ husband, Rohan Dennis, an Olympic medallist and former world time trial champion, is facing charges related to her death in Adelaide.
Hoskins, who had represented Australia twice in the Olympics as a track cyclist, was part of the team that won the 2015 team pursuit world championship.
Stay updated with Australian Sport.
Receive a daily roundup of the latest sports news, features, and commentary from our Australian sports desk.
Sign up now for our newsletter promotion.
Despite a lower back injury, Brown triumphed in the 28.6km elite women’s time trial, finishing in 40 minutes 51.30 seconds.
Chapman displayed improvement in this discipline, coming in just 6.89 seconds behind Brown to claim the silver medal. Georgie Howe finished more than 30 seconds behind in third place.
In the men’s event, Luke Plapp secured victory in the 37.5km race with a time of 46:19.54, leading a quartet of Australian team Jayco-Alula riders.
Plapp’s teammate Chris Harper crossed the finish line over 30 seconds later, securing second place, followed by team veteran Michael Hepburn, and Kelland O’Brien in fourth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *